top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Catlett

Stop the Highlight Reels and Get Real

When we don’t give ourselves permission to acknowledge our emotions, we don’t give ourselves space to heal. If we avoid our pain, anger, grief, trauma, sorrow, and loss, our wounds remain wounding. And sometimes I think we want to portray this image of having it all together by posting the highlight reels…even if our lives are a complete mess.

A few months ago I sustained a severe concussion from cheer. Today, I’d describe my healing as both epically messy and stunningly beautiful. If I’m being real with you (which I’m trying to be), there are highs and lows, good days and bad days. I’m really good at putting on a brave face. I’m good at looking people in the eye, assembling a smile and saying, “It’s alright; we’re gonna make it”. Sometimes this habit makes its way into my relationship with God, too. I try to avoid His presence so He doesn’t have to see my mess…so I can avoid my mess. I know that as soon as I walk into His presence, all these highlight reels I’ve created for God to see, for you to see, and for me to see, will come undone. He will readily look past my brave face and embrace the real condition of my heart. And that’s scary.

I think it’s time for us to stop the highlight reels and get real. It’s time to be present in His presence, because that’s where healing begins. He welcomes us to come to Him just as we are, wounds and all. He loves us during our hurt, our healing and when we are healed. He is preparing us for big things, good things. He isn’t just taking care of us, He is taking good care of us. And He doesn’t care for you and I because He feels obligated to – He cares for us because He wants to. Our hurt matters to God, and so does our healing. And He may not change our circumstances, but He will do a good work in our hearts. That’s a promise.

I want you to know that you are incredibly brave. I’m proud of the person you are right now in this moment, regardless of if you have it all together or not. Healing is hard and not linear. So like the woman in the Bible, keep reaching for the fringe of His robe, even when healing seems unreachable. All we have to do is show up at His feet and be real. #stopthehighlightreels #getreal

104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page