top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Catlett

Joy in the Midst of Trials

Walking my path of healing, I’ve lost my sense of joy…yet James says, “…when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy” (James 1:2).

Deep in my hurt, I’ve questioned God saying, “Really? Consider this trial as an opportunity for great joy? Were you not there, Father? Did you not see what happened?”

I haven’t been able to drive for the last 8 months because of the concussion I sustained in March. I’ve been in 23 credit hours, playing catch-up from all the classwork I missed last semester while taking classes for this semester. I’m learning to manage POTS (postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome) and PCS (post-concussion syndrome). Some days complete healing seems unreachable.

I don’t know your story, but maybe your trials also feel never-ending…and maybe you’ve questioned God, too. I want you to know that you’re not alone – I’m here with you.

I want to encourage you, and myself, that just because this part of our story isn’t good doesn’t mean God can’t work it for our good. Just because this hurts doesn’t mean God is hurtful. Bad, gut-wrenching things that make our knees go weak, are a result of living in a broken, fallen, sinful world. However we must hold onto the truth that God is loving, gentle, caring, intentional, and kind…He truly has our best interest in mind. God is still God, He is still good at being God.

Father, may our pain and sorrow remind us that we don’t belong here; this is not our home. We are made for more, made for heaven…a place without pain, illness, sorrow, tears. May we remember in difficult times that Your work is good, even when it doesn’t feel like it. Let this chapter in our story have a purpose, Lord. Empower us through your spirit to give thanks in all circumstances, and let these trials change our hearts to look more like Jesus.


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page